FBP InternationalFBP InternationalFBP International

Subclass 476 (Skilled Recognised Graduate) Visa

Skilled Migration Visa

Subclass 476 (Skilled- Recognised Graduate) Visa

With a Subclass 476 (Skilled-Recognised Graduate) Visa, fresh engineering graduates can spend up to 18 months living, working, or studying in Australia. One must be under 31 years old and have achieved a degree or higher qualification from a designated institution within the last two years.

Benefits of Subclass 476

Although Subclass 476 is a temporary visa, it affords certain benefits to its holders:

  • Travel in Australia
  • Work in Australia
  • Study in Australia
  • Travel outside Australia and return as many times as the visa is valid

In order to be eligible to apply for this visa, individuals must meet the following criteria:

  • Have completed an engineering course within the last two years, for which you were granted a degree or other advanced qualification such as:
    ○ Bachelor’s Degree
    ○ Master’s Degree
    ○ Doctoral Degree
    ○ Postgraduate Diploma
  • The degree must be in an engineering discipline only, such as:
    ○ Chemical Engineering
    ○ Civil Engineering
    ○ Environmental Engineering
    ○ Electrical and Electronics Engineering
    ○ Mechanical, Production, and Plant Engineering
    ○ Mining and Material Engineering
    ○ Structural Engineering
  • Have completed an engineering qualification at a specified educational institution i.e., one that offers an engineering qualification accredited under the Washington Accord
  • An engineering degree or higher qualification will also be accepted from certain specified institutions from the following countries:
    ○ Argentina
    ○ Brazil
    ○ Chile
    ○ Finland
    ○ Germany
    ○ Hungary
    ○ India
    ○ Iran
    ○ People’s Republic of China
    ○ Philippines
    ○ Poland
    ○ Slovakia
    ○ Sweden
    ○ Tanzania
    To know the exact institutions from these countries, visit the Eligibility section of Subclass 476.
  • Have not previously held a Subclass 485 or Subclass 476 (unless held one of these visas as a member of the family unit)
  • Be under 31 years
  • Have proof of English language through either:
    ○ Possession of a valid passport from the Republic of Ireland, the United States of America, Canada, or the United Kingdom, or
    ○ Acquisition of the required score for IELTS, TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic, OET, or Cambridge C1 Advanced test within 3 years before visa application
  • Meet the health requirements
  • Meet the character requirements
Location when Applying

Individuals and any family members included in their application can be in or outside Australia when applying for this visa.

Including Family

Individuals are permitted to include members of the family unit in the application.

Know more about Subclass 476 (Skilled-Recognised Graduate) Visa.

476 (Recognized Graduate) Visa

Australia’s most sought after profession - Engineers

Eligible Graduates – The accredited visa (Subclass 476) allows recent engineering graduates from eligible universities to gain up to 18 months of skilled work experience in careers. It is a temporary visa.

Your family can also apply to join Australia once a visa has been issued.

You must obtain an engineering qualification from an accredited institution. Attendance at an institution or university associated with an accredited institution does not meet this requirement.

  • Recent engineering graduates from accredited educational institutions can gain up to 18 months of skilled work experience.
  • Duration of the visa is 18 months
  • Work and study in Australia.
  • Must be under 31 years of age
  • Received an engineering degree from an accredited institution in the past two years
  • Not a major holder of a subclass 476 or 485 visa.
  • You can show your English knowledge

You must have achieved one of the following engineering qualifications two years before applying:

  • Bachelor’s degree
  • Master’s degree
  • Doctoral degree
  • Higher Education Diploma

Your qualifications should include a major sequence of engineering studies or specialise:

  • Civil engineering
  • Construction engineering
  • Chemical engineering
  • Environmental engineering
  • Electricity and electronics Mechanical Engineering
  • Manufacturing and Mechanical Engineering
  • Mining and Materials Science.

Washington Accord institutions

  • Any institution offering an Engineering qualification accredited under the Washington Accord is a recognized institution. The Washington Accord is an international agreement among bodies responsible for accrediting engineering degree programs. It recognizes the substantial equivalency of programs accredited by those bodies and recommends that graduates of programs accredited by any of the signatory bodies be recognized by the other bodies as having met the academic requirements for entry to the practice of engineering.
  •  Other accredited organizations


  • Catholic University of Argentina


  • Federal University of Minas Gerais


  • Universidad Cattolica del Norte Catholic University of Chile—Antofagasta
  • University of Chile
  • University of Concepcion                           


  • HUT, Helsinki


  • RWTH, Aachen
  • Technical University of Berlin
  • Technical University of Clausthal
  • TU Bergakademie Freiberg
  • University of Hannover


  • University of Miskolc


  • Anna – University of Chennai
  • Baranas-Varanasi Hindu University
  • Indian Institute of Science – Bangalore
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
  • Indian Mining School – Dhanbad


  • Amir Kabir University of
  • Technology University of Tehran

People`s Republic of China

  • Beijing Normal University
  • Beijing Petroleum University
  • Beijing University of Chemical Technology
  • Beijing University of Technology (formerly Beijing Polytechnic University)
  • China University of Mining and Technology—Beijing
  • Guangzhou University
  • Shanghai University of Engineering Science
  • Shanghai Jiao tong University
  • Tongji University
  • Tsinghua University
  • University of Science and Technology—Beijing


  • University of the Philippines


  • Wroclaw University of Technology


  • TU Kosice


  • Lulea University of Technology


  • University of Dar es Salaam